H2O Racing
Union Internationale Motonautique


October 1, 2017

Sunday, 1 October, LIUZHOU (China): The stage is set for a classic showdown in this afternoon’s UIM F1H2O Grand Prix of Liuzhou which marks the city’s 10th anniversary of hosting a round of the UIM F1H2O Championship.


Seven drivers have won in Liuzhou since the first race was held in 2008 and six of them, Ahmed Al Hameli, Philippe Chiappe, Sami Selio, Jonas Andersson, Thani Al Qemzi and Alex Carella will line up this afternoon. The missing member of the Liuzhou seven is Jay Price, the winner in 2008.


Carella starts from pole as he goes for a fourth win on the River Liu, with Eric Stark on his immediate inside, last year’s pole and race winner Al Hameli in third.


The last time Marit Stromoy started a race from fourth place was in Sharjah in 2015, she went on to take an historic win, could history be about to repeat? Defending champion Chiappe starts in fifth, Andersson breathing a sigh of relief that his issue yesterday was not engine related and still starts from P6.


Al Qemzi starts in seventh just ahead of teammate Rashed Al Qemzi in his best ever qualifying position in his short career in the top flight. Another F4-S graduate Mike Szymura starts from P9 for the first time and expect something special from Shaun Torrente, starting in tenth.


Not such good news for Sami Selio, his spectacular crash yesterday forcing a boat and engine change so he will start from 18, Grant Trask also changing an engine and relegated to 19.